There’s Something About Autumn

There’s something about Autumn. For me it’s a homecoming. I know, Spring is the acknowledged time of new growth and new beginnings. It’s just not so for me, and if you are from the Northeast chances are it’s not so for you either. Fall is my time to start anew, to emerge from the reverse hibernation I practice in the summer months- it is my time for rebirth and renewal. As a North Jersey transplant now living on the South Carolina coast I don’t get to experience it as I once did. I settle instead for long weekend trips to the mountains, for vicariously living it through my northern friends’ status updates, and always I have my memories. But in the quietest moments I can close my eyes and breathe deeply, and I am there again…

Fall is so much more than some syrupy pumpkinish concoction bought from a coffee shop.  It’s in the being out in it, the experiencing of it, the living of it. It’s apple picking and hayrides and Octoberfest tapping parties. It’s hunting for the one perfect pumpkin that begs for the place of honor on porch steps. It’s football and hot cider and wood-burning stoves. It’s hiking for hours, and it’s the soul-filling stillness of a forest just before sunset.  It’s in the crisp tasting cool air that snaps at the lungs. It’s in the smoky leaf scents left clinging to flannel shirts, a perfect nature-made cologne. Autumn is life alive, electrified in candy apple reds, shocking oranges, and stardust golds reflecting off of a glass-plated lake.

I am in it, I can breathe, I am home and alive again once more.

My childhood home in New Jersey around Halloween

My childhood home in New Jersey around Halloween

North Carolina mountains late Fall 2013

North Carolina mountains late Fall 2013

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “There’s Something About Autumn

  1. I love Fall too! The cooler weather and watching the colorful leaves. I get to wear my nice sweaters too. But to be totally honest with why I love the Fall season. ..I love FOOTBALL! #WHO-DEY! ..lol Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderful capturing of the golden glow of autumn and new beginnings. Add to that the beginning of a new school year. I always loved the scent of a freshly sharpened number 2 pencil. A chance to start afresh with your studies. Corn mazes, apple picking and pumpkin pie in November are all favorites too. Loved these last lines of yours, Karen:

    “It’s in the crisp tasting cool air that snaps at the lungs. It’s in the smoky leaf scents left clinging to flannel shirts, a perfect nature-made cologne. Autumn is life alive, electrified in candy apple reds, shocking oranges, and stardust golds reflecting off of a glass-plated lake.”

    Beautifully written. You have poetic sensibilities.

    Like

    • Thank you, Cristina! I appreciate you taking the time to read my latest. It was those fresh new square pink erasers that had the back-to-school smell for me. By the by, do kids even use pencils and erasers anymore, or is it all tablets and laptops these days?

      Like

  3. I just found your blog and love how you painted such a beautiful picture of fall. I’ve been on the edge– trying to decide if I’m ready for fall or if I’ll dread it coming and cling to summer. But, you got me. I’m excited for the pumpkins, for the football, for the rich flavors and spices, and for the vibrant colors! Thank you for this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have to admit, I am just the opposite. I don’t like cool/cold weather, so I see autumn as the beginning of hibernating season for me. Once the temperature dips below 70 degrees I tend to stay indoors. And sadly, I am from the east coast, so I grew up in this weather. If I could, I would move to the west coast in a minute. But, complaining about the weather won’t make it go away so I learn to deal with it and count the days until spring. 🙂

    Like

    • We’ve just had our first bit of “cool” weather here as it dropped into the upper 50s last night. My Facebook news feed is full of a mixture of “love this weather” and “bring back summer” posts. I will wish for you an Indian Summer and an early upcoming Spring. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  5. hello!
    I’ve just had a quick look around your site, your child hood home is so cute! Your writing style flows so easily, i can’t wait to read more.
    I totally agree, autumn is one of my favorite seasons too, basically because it means christmas is on the way ha! =) x

    Like

  6. I am not an autumn person at all – but I adore the smell of apples, and gathering them, and then you have many buckets and for a month turn into apple pie maniac, and all your house smells with the new-baked pies and cinnamon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I I love the contrasting pictures at the end of your blog. Could the bottom photo be from Dupont State Forest? If so, I love that place–though I don’t get there enough. I used to love fall, but when I started to homeschool my kids, fall came to represent organizational work to me. (I love homeschooling but not curriculum planning.) This post makes me want to go outside!

    Like

    • It is Dupont State Forest! We spent a blissful, near-perfect day there last December. It was past peak foliage so we were nearly alone, and we hiked for hours on end exploring the trails and waterfalls. We are heading to the mountains in Western South Carolina in a few weeks for some hiking- cannot wait!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I like your take on autumn and I also like the fact that you call it autumn in your headline and not fall! I’ve already posted about autumn once and am actively resisting the temptation to do it as well. I like your writing style as well so you’ve gained an extra follower 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! You get to have the true joy of experiencing it in the Northeast. I’d be tempted to write about it daily as well. I came across your blog the other day, and I thought I was already following you. I must’ve forgotten to hit the button. It will be interesting to hear how things differ from across the pond. I’m curious how you will find working here- I think you do in much better in England (more holiday time)!

      Like

  9. Ah, that New Jersey hometown pic could have been one block away from my (southern) New Jersey hometown pics. Amazing. And I just posted about the smell of those fallen leaves representing Halloween, and all the nostalgic moments from childhood that go with it.
    This was just lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Nose, that is so great! I suppose I’d usually be called The Hand since I’m all about the texture of things, but in the fall it’s all about the smell. And I’d say you’ve definitely got a deep little thinker on your hands! Thank you for visiting, and for the photo advice. Karen 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

