These Are the Police Officers That I Know

In honor of my blog’s upcoming one year anniversary later this month I thought that I would share some of my most viewed posts from the past year, along with some of my personal favorites. This one is my second most viewed post, and I think it is timely to share it with my readers again. Thank you all for each and every visit you have made here!

Fill Your Own Glass

These are the police officers that I know.

Here are the ones who recover an infant, dehydrated and starving, from an abandoned building that is sweltering sans electricity in the August heat. Here are the ones who transport the infant to the emergency room to receive the care not tendered by a neglectful mother.

Here is the one struck to the core by a heartbroken preteen who has just had her bag, including her iPod, stolen. Here is the one who took up an immediate collection among his fellow officers and before day’s end presented the girl with a brand new music player and accessories.

Here is the one who collects stuffed animals to give to children at the local domestic violence shelter. Here is the one who brings bags full of warm clothes to the homeless shelter. Here are the ones who participate in “shop with a cop” programs…

View original post 531 more words

2 thoughts on “These Are the Police Officers That I Know

  1. CPR on a stranger in desperate need, first aid to stop the bleeding until the EMT’s get there, standing their ground between warring and often drunken family members, working for hours and days and weeks sifting through the smallest of leads to get that last bit of probable cause to lock up the creep that killed your loved one…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

