Why I Left My Mom Genes in the Fitting Room

In honor of my blog’s upcoming one year anniversary later this month I thought that I would share some of my most viewed posts from the past year, along with some of my personal favorites. This post is my fourth most viewed post, and it is one of my most personal pieces in which I talk about why being a mom was not in the cards for me. Thank you all for each and every visit you have made here!

Fill Your Own Glass

A beautiful woman wearing her mom genes A beautiful woman wearing her mom genes

I had the feeling as soon as I picked them up that they were not my style. Still, I wanted to give it a try since millions of women rave about them, so I took them to the fitting room.  After much tugging and tucking, some wiggling and wrestling, and more bouncing and breath-holding I came to the expected conclusion. No matter how I might try to force it those mom genes simply did not fit.

It turns out that I am one of those women for whom motherhood is just not in the cards. Throughout my adult life I have had moments of wonder, but after brief reflection came to the correct conclusion that though something may have been missing, this was not it. While I do have a care-taking, nurturing instinct, I have no maternal instinct. I do not feel the…

View original post 485 more words

4 thoughts on “Why I Left My Mom Genes in the Fitting Room

Leave a Reply

